The Harder Railway (HB) navigates 755 meters in eight minutes and carries passengers from Interlaken Ost to the Harder Kulm, Interlaken's home mountain. During the ride with the funicular and at the mountain station, one can enjoy the view of Lake Thun and Lake Brienz, the mountain valleys and the peaks of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau.
Builders protected the landscape
The concession to build the electric funicular from Interlaken Ost to the Harder Kulm was granted in 1890 and work began 15 years later. The 1447-metre-long track, with a gradient of up to 64 per mille, reached the summit in 1907 However, as it was still necessary to construct ancillary buildings and protective structures, the funicular was only opened in mid-May 1908. For reasons of landscape protection, the track was not laid in a straight line but almost describes a quadrant. This means that the tracks of the Harder Railway are scarcely visible to people in Interlaken looking up at the Harder Kulm.
For the 100-year anniversary in 2008, both of the original 1966 carriages were replaced. Today's observation carriages provide you with a breathtaking view of both lakes and the mountain landscape during the trip.
Route length1,47 km